weather icon Clear

11 apply to fill vacancies in 2 Nevada Assembly districts

Updated December 12, 2018 - 8:18 pm

The Clark County Commission is expected on Tuesday to appoint two candidates to fill vacant Assembly seats in districts 10 and 11, emptied after incumbents left to pursue different offices.

Six people applied to represent District 10 and five to represent District 11 before the window for applications expired at noon Monday, according to the Commission’s agenda for next week.

District 10 candidates include attorney Alison Brasier; public defender Nadia Hojjatt; 2014 Assembly candidate Jesse “Jake” Holder; Nevada Society of CPAs administrative assistant Mara Meservy; attorney Rochelle Thuy Nguyen; and executive casino host Zenda Shepherd.

In District 11, candidates include Little Caesars Pizza employee Ace Acosta; former Assemblyman Douglas Bache; consulting business owner Abraham Camejo; Culinary Local 226 grievance specialist Beatrice Angela Duran; and UNLV legal services fellow Mayra Salinas-Menjivar.

Former District 10 Assemblyman Chris Brooks was appointed by the Clark County Commission last week to the state Senate District 3 seat vacated when Tick Segerblom was elected to the commission last month.

Olivia Diaz, who was re-elected last month, resigned from the Assembly District 11 seat last week because she plans to run for Las Vegas City Council.

Contact Shea Johnson at sjohnson@reviewjournal.com or 702-383-0272. Follow @Shea_LVRJ on Twitter.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Trump tweets of an election ‘delay’ appears quickly rejected

President Donald Trump is for the first time floating a “delay” to the Nov. 3 presidential election, as he makes unsubstantiated allegations that increased mail-in voting will result in fraud.

Trump says Senate should simply dismiss impeachment case

The Republican president is giving mixed messages ahead of the House’s landmark vote that will launch the Senate proceedings in a matter of days.

Nevada Press Association lauds approval of public records bill

The Nevada Press Association recognized the efforts of several state lawmakers — state Sens. David Parks, Melanie Scheible, Ben Kieckhefer, Jason Frierson — and Gov. Steve Sisolak for their efforts in passing a bill to strengthen the state’s public records laws.